Startseite Kopie.png

About the Center

The Center for Responsible AI Technologies, which the University of Augsburg (UNIA), the Munich School of Philosophy (HFPH) and the Technical University of Munich (TUM) founded in February 2022, aims to address philosophical, ethical and social science questions and problems to be involved in AI technology development right from the start.

 

With this integrated research approach, the new center will make an important contribution to socially responsible AI innovations.

Gradient_3.png

Focus & Goals

The Center for Responsible AI Technologies should act as a link and innovation accelerator on three levels:

research and method development

Research and method development on new concepts such as 'embedded ethics', technical-social 'co-creation' as situated practical embedding of AI applications in various fields of application:

→ medicine / care / health

→ Future of work

→ Mobility

→ Climate / Environment

​​This requires an integrated consideration of inter- and transdisciplinary research on AI and its philosophical-ethical and social dimensions with a view to a new relationship between man and machine.

education

Training students and young scientists to become the decision-makers of tomorrow. By dealing with the ethical and social dimensions of AI right from the start, they become urgently needed experts who have acquired both technical competence and the necessary orientation knowledge in philosophy, ethics and the social sciences. For this purpose, the partners' course achievements are mutually recognized and joint interdisciplinary courses are developed.

discourse and outreach

Social discourse and outreach to discuss these dimensions from multiple perspectives with representatives of a wide variety of social groups and to build further social acceptance through dialogue with citizens, political advice, etc.

→ It is important to make the basis of existing and further developing ethical and social values fruitful in an innovative way for a sustainable, future-oriented relationship between man and machine or for machine-mediated relationships between people (e.g. in different care relationships).

Startseite Kopie.png

About the Center

Das Center for Responsible AI Technologies, das die Universität Augsburg (UNIA), die Hochschule für Philosophie München (HFPH) und die Technische Universität München (TUM) im Februar 2022 gegründet haben, verfolgt das Ziel, philosophische, ethische und sozialwissenschaftliche Frage- und Problemstellungen von Anfang an in die KI-Technologieentwicklung einzubringen.

 

Mit diesem integrierten Forschungsansatz wird das neue Zentrum einen wichtigen Beitrag zu gesellschaftlich verantwortungsvollen KI-Innovationen leisten.

Gradient_3.png

Fokus & Ziele

Das Center for Responsible AI Technologies soll auf drei Ebenen als Bindeglied und Innovationsbeschleuniger fungieren:

Forschung und Methodenentwicklung

Forschung und Methodenentwicklung zu neuartigen Konzepten wie ‚Embedded Ethics‘, technisch-sozialer ‚Co-Creation‘ als situierte praktische Einbettung von KI-Anwendungen in verschiedenen Anwendungsfeldern:

→ Medizin / Pflege / Gesundheit

→ Zukunft der Arbeit

→ Mobilität

→ Klima / Umwelt

​​Dies erfordert eine integrierte Betrachtung von inter- und transdisziplinärer Forschung zu KI und deren philosophisch-ethischen wie gesellschaftlichen Dimensionen mit Blick auf ein neu zu denkendes Verhältnis von Mensch und Maschine.

Ausbildung

Ausbildung von Studierenden und Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen zu den Entscheidungsträger*innen von morgen. Indem diese sich schon von Anfang an mit ethischen und gesellschaftlichen Dimensionen von KI auseinandersetzen, werden sie zu dringend benötigten Expert*innen, die zugleich technische Kompetenz wie auch das erforderliche Orientierungswissen in Philosophie, Ethik und den Sozialwissenschaften erworben haben. Dazu werden Studienleistungen der Partner wechselseitig anerkannt und gemeinsame interdisziplinäre Studienangebote entwickelt.

Diskurs und Outreach

Gesellschaftlicher Diskurs und Outreach, um diese Dimensionen multiperspektivisch mit Vertreter*innen verschiedenster gesellschaftlicher Gruppierungen zu erörtern und weitere gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz durch Bürgerdialoge, Politikberatung etc. aufzubauen.

→ Es gilt die Basis bestehender und sich weiter entwickelnder ethischer und gesellschaftlicher Werte in innovativer Weise für ein nachhaltiges, zukunftsgewandtes Verhältnis zwischen Mensch und Maschine bzw. für maschinenvermittelte Verhältnisse zwischen Menschen (z.B. in verschiedenen Sorgebeziehungen) fruchtbar zu machen.